time for summer

Welp… my first college semester and I guess what you would consider my freshman (semester) year is officially over. And at the peak of my enjoyment, at that! I feel like I was finally finding my niche in College Station. I guess that’s the bad thing about starting college in the Spring, as opposed to the Fall. Having a freshman semester instead of a freshman year just leaves less time to get situated and adjusted.

I really do love College Station and A&M but I am glad it’s summer and I’m home. Time to slow down a bit.

My plan for this summer is to take two math classes at the community college here. And hopefully I don’t get another Iranian electrical engineer teaching my class. One time is enough. Aside from the classes, I was also planning on getting a job. But I’m not exactly sure how that’s going to go down since I don’t know my class schedule, yet. That’s pretty much the serious portion of my summer.

On the other hand, I have things that I actually want to do. Such as reading (books that I choose!), going to Schlitterbahn, helping at my church, and seeing my friends who live down here. With summer being 3 months, I should be able to easily satisfy this list. I plan on these three months being pretty productive.

I just wish I could add ‘traveling’ to this list. Oh, how I want to travel, but am unable to! The most traveling I will be doing this summer is heading up to Austin with a friend for a Matt & Kim concert.

Reading! It’s definitely one of my favorite things, but I’ve been unable to read what I want to read this semester. Who would have thought school required so much time?! Ha. But here is my tentative reading schedule:

1. The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde (currently reading)

2. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

Aaaand that’s all I got as of right now. No doubt that list will grow to the point of overflowing, where I have too many books and not enough time to finish them. I’ll keep you updated.

Schlitterbahn! A summer essential. I love Schlitterbahn. What’s better than a freezing water slide in the middle of the hot Texas summer? Very, very few things. I wanted to find an picture that fully illustrates how much fun Schlitterbahn is. A simple google image search rendered this:

Schlitter-Fun!

Schlitter-Fun!

If that’s not the personification of fun and excitement, I don’t know what is! It’s certainly not fear on her face. Why would you even think that? Ha. Yeah right. I think you can say she’s obviously having Schlitter-Fun! When you’re finished clearing your eyes of the tears that the laughter from that joke provided, just move right on down to the next paragraph.

So this summer is a two-headed beast. With school and work on one side. Bleh! And fun stuff on the other. Yea! At least it will be productive, eh?

About nickwilson12

Semester off. In between high school and college.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

